Genevieve-Client Success Story

Focused. Driven. Dedicated. Hard working. Energetic. Motivated. Passionate. Determined. Goal driven.

These are just a few of the words I would use to describe my client Genevieve.  I am thrilled to share her story with you today…

Thanks to Google search for connecting Gen and I. I remember receiving this email from her on May 25 2016…

Good morning Les, I came across your webpage through the Prime Personal Training website and I had to email you. I have been on a weight loss journey for a 1 year and 4 months now. It’s been up and down.  In January 2015 I weighed in at 166 and managed to get down to 150 by the end of February 2015. I was following a strict low-carb diet and was doing a minimum of 30 minutes of cardio 5x a week. Unfotunately, by the end of the summer my weight went up to 172 – I was not eating properly nor going to the gym. By October 2015 I decided to loose it again with the ultimate goal of reaching 150. I managed to get to 160 by December and I hit a plateau. From January to March 2016 my weight went back up to 166. From April 1st to May 4th I was able to get down to 157. I went to Jamaica from May 4th to May 14th. When I got back I was 166 again. As of this morning I am 160.6. My diet is quit strict throughout the week, however on weekend it is often less than perfect due to all the events we attend etc. My diet consist of the following: 2 boiled eggs in the morning with 11 almonds, green salad with veggies for lunch with 11 almonds, and chicken or beef for dinner with veggies and a carb (1 cup of rice, or quinoa). As per exercise, I do not have a gym so I usually power walk with my dog, use the elliptical in my apartment building, and do a workout video / program at home. I am 23 years old and I am currently a masters of social work student at Carleton. I really want to do this and reach my 140/135 pound goal by September because I am attending an important wedding and I want to look my absolute best. I’ve been trying so hard but it seems like I will not be able to do it on my own. However, being a student I do have a limited budget. I can probably only do $50-100/ week max. I know it is not a lot but I really hope that you will consider me as a client. I really really want to do this and reach my goal. Looking forward to your reply. Best, Genevieve Roberge

As you can tell she had a history of yo-yo dieting and was a bit obsessed with the scale/numbers.  When I read her email I knew she would make a great client as she seemed very determined to reach her goal but was ready and willing to seek help.  I also noticed that does a lot of cardio- and not a lot of weights-this meant her body would respond very well to strength training and a change in her exercise routine.

From the first day we met I loved her enthusiasm for life and how determined she was to reach her goals. We started out training 3 days a week, 30 minute sessions.  She NEVER missed a workout and did cardio 2 days a week on her own (high intensity intervals, no more than 20 minute sessions).  I also encouraged her to eat more carbs but cycling them depending on her activity level that day and also upping her protein and vegetable portions. In her first month she lost 7bs and 2% body fat and 10 inches. We were thrilled! Everything she was doing was working and she was feeling fantastic.  Then the month of July her progress slowed down a bit, and she began to get discouraged and I was confused at first as to why the stall in progress.  Then after she described her day to me in a bit more details I said WHOA GEN, YOU NEED TO SLOW DOWN! So I encouraged her to do less working out and more working in (more yoga, focus on getting more sleep, more restorative activities) to calm herself down and give her a chance to relax.  And guess what, it worked! Her weight and body far and inches continued to drop after that and she had a renewed sense of self and her motivation was back! I encouraged her to change her mindset and to focus on her habits (the things she can control) instead of obsessing over the scale and her weight (something that she can’t change) and it’s amazing what happens when you take the pressure off yourself and just enjoy the process.  She switched from working out just for the purpose of  losing weight and eating clean just to lose inches and instead she know works out because she knows she will feel better afterwards and eat healthy because it makes her feel good to eat healthy food and she loves the way she feels after a good night’s sleep.

In total since we started she has lost 20+lbs and 5% body fat and almost 25 inches.  She has a renewed sense of self and has a deeper understanding of what a proper workout routine consists of (less is more!) and the importance of following a consistent and healthy nutrition plan. She said no to quick fixes, special pills, extreme dieting and excessive exercise. She was patient and listened to her trainer and look what happened…..

gen-before-and-after-side-view

Incredible right?!

I can’t express how grateful I am to have had the opportunity to work with Gen and help her improve her quality of life. The best part is seeing how much more comfortable she is in her own skin and her smile is bigger than ever before!   While I am sad to see her leave in a couple months I have all the confidence in the world that the things she has learned while training with me are going to stick with her for the rest of her life. Over the past 5 months we have worked together I have seen her transform into a stronger, leaner, and more confident woman.  She has learned to enjoy working out and looks forward to trying different recipes and making healthy meals. While it is a lot of work she will be the first to tell you that it is worth it!

Another wonderful moment that I got to witness recently was when her boyfriend proposed to her at the most beautiful spot in Gatineau Park, Pink Lake.  I was so overcome with emotion when I saw her reaction as I know how happy Mic makes her and she was over the moon happy when he got down on one knee (she was also totally surprised!)  Her boyfriend (now fiance) has been so supportive through her ups and downs and they love each other unconditionally so it was so amazing to be there for that very special moment! She still can’t believe she is going to be getting married next year! I am so happy for Gen and Mic to spend the rest of their lives together, happily ever after.

Now here is Gen’s story from her perspective…

Weight is something that many people struggle with – myself included. Time and time again I would try to lose weight, but I would always be unsuccessful. I would look for quick fixes and try all the different diet plans I could find, but they never worked. Then I would decide that I would exercise really hard, and a week later I would give up. It was a vicious cycle of wanting to lose weight but never committing 100%, nor having the patience to let the process happen.

I finally reached my breaking point when the scale showed me that I weighed the most I had ever been. I am 23 years old and I knew this was not the life I wanted to continue to live. I finally decided that if I was going to lose weight I had to commit 100% – for real this time. The first (and best) decision I made was to hire a personal trainer – Les. I met with her on June 1st 2016 for an initial meeting. I told her how I had been struggling with my weight and how badly I wanted to change my lifestyle. I also told her how committed I was to losing weight, getting stronger and reaching my goals. I wanted to show her that I was going to be a client that gave it everything she had and produced amazing results. Physically and mentally I was determined to do everything that it took to get where I wanted to be. We drafted a workout schedule and I committed to do doing cardio on the days that we did not train together. I also began to walk at least 10,000 steps everyday. We also discussed my nutrition and came up with a nutrition plan that worked with my lifestyle. I also incorporated a multivitamin and fish oil in my morning routine and made it a priority to drink at least 2L of water a day. The combination of dedication, motivation, hard work, a good workout routine, a solid nutrition plan, and Les’s support are what led to my successes.

However, it wasn’t always easy. In fact, at times it was really hard especially when it came to nutrition. As a society we are constantly surrounded by temptations – at school, at work, with family and friends, and events and celebrations. But proving to yourself that you have the ability to say “no” and fighting against the temptations is extremely empowering. It is that dedication and the internal power that will lead to successful weight loss.
Additionally, there were also time where I struggled tremendously mentally. Those arbitrary numbers on the scale began consuming my every thought. At one point during this process, the numbers did not change for 5 weeks despite working out and eating clean. It was really devastating and difficult because I had reached a plateau at a number that I could never break through before. Yet, here I was doing everything that I could and the number was not changing. I truly believed that could never get past it and I would be stuck at this weight forever. When Les noticed how badly it was affecting me she told me to skip our workout session and to go do yoga at any studio in the city. She realized that at that point I needed to find an outlet to de-stress and find my focus on the goal that matters most – being healthy. Not only was she there to support me as a personal trainer, but she also acknowledged my mental health – which speaks volumes about the type of person she is. Surprisingly, when I let go of all the pressures that I was putting on myself, the numbers dropped – a lot! Ultimately, when you have Les on your side, motivating and supporting you – you can do anything.

Hiring Les as a trainer was the best decision that I could have made for myself. With her support, dedication, and coaching I have been able to change my lifestyle in the best possible way. I now love to be active, I love to run (which I hated before), and I love to try new recipes and cook healthier options that make my family and I feel good. I highly recommend everyone to hire Les as a personal trainer. She will be there with you every step of the way. Take the time to invest in yourself and accomplish the goals you’ve always wanted too. Give it your 100% both physically and mentally. Stick to your workouts and nutrition plan and changes will happen! You can do this.

gen-before-and-after

Congratulations again Gen on your transformation! Your success story is an inspiration to all and I look forward to hearing about many more successes in your future.

If you want to follow her fitness journey and get a closer look into her daily life you can follow her on instagram @genevievenr

 

Les 🙂

Leave a Reply

