Another quick and easy breakfast recipe…

My client Katie sent me a picture of these yummy “clean egg muffins” she made.  I asked her for the recipe immediately and thought I’d share it with you!  She found it in Oxygen Magazine and I found another person’s version of it online….

INGREDIENTS for 24 cupcakes:

  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 2 roma tomatoes
  • good handful of fresh basil leaves
  • 3-4 scallions (green onion)
  • 6 whole eggs + 4 cups of egg whites
DIRECTIONS:
 1. Chop up all of your veggies! Then mix them together in a large bowl. Next, whisk your whole eggs and egg whites together in another bowl.
2. Line your muffin tins with cupcake holders and spray with PAM. If you don’t have liners, you can directly spray PAM onto the tin. Then fill your cups with about a tablespoon of egg mixture.
 3. Next fill the rest of the cup up with veggies! Then fill to the top with the rest of your eggs. You can pretty much fill to the brim.
4. Pop them into the oven at 375F for about 20-30 min or until you see that they are firm on top.
Yummy!!! I was so hungry. Couldn’t wait to eat.
   
Simply peel the egg muffins out of your liners and serve with some salsa. Super yummy!!!! This is a great meal for those of you who have super stressful mornings and don’t have time to make an omelet. If you make 24 of these you can eat them for breakfast or snacks for the rest of the week.  


NUTRITION INFO: total recipe: 1061 cals, 34g fat, 32g carbs, 144g protein. per muffin: 44.2 cals, 1.4g fat, 1.3g carbs, 6g protein. Amazing! I hope you make them as they will save you so much time in the morning!!! Just refrigerate and pop in the microwave for around 30 sec!

 

Unfortunately these wonderful egg creations are not a part of my meal plan but trust me, as soon as my competition is over, I will be making these ALL the time! 1.3 g of carbs and 6 g of protein per muffin?? AMAZING!

Try them and let me know what you think!

Les 🙂

2 thoughts on “Another quick and easy breakfast recipe…

  1. Isabelle says:

    I am definitely making some this weekend. Though I would remove the peppers, maybe add some avocado and some cheese. Mmmmm, can’t wait!!!

Leave a Reply

