HOPE BEACH TOMORROW!

Happy Friday the 13th everybody!!  Hope that you are all having a fabulous Friday so far…

For those of you who live in Ottawa I’m sure you’ve all heard about the HOPE BEACH CLASSIC happening this weekend.  If not, you should come to Mooney’s Bay and join in on all that will be happening!  The team from LC Fitness studio will be there along with a few clients and friends kicking butt on Court 26.  I can’t wait!

This tournament is SO much fun and I haven’t played in it for a few years.  What I look forward to the most (other than playing volleyball) is being on the beach all day and working on my tan, catching up with/running into so many different people and feeling good walking around/playing vball in my bikini!!

I decided at the end of April (after watching some friends on mine compete in a fitness competition) that it was time for me to take my fitness and my body to the next level.  This is not to say that I’m not in good shape but I wanted to get a bit leaner and clean up my diet a bit.  So, my first goal was to wear (and feel good in) a bikini at Hope Beach (happening tomorrow) and my next goal is to do a fitness photo shoot at the end of July to get some new photos for my website.  Then I am going to Los Angeles, CA for a friend’s wedding/mini Southern Miss reunion so obviously I want to look in top shape for that!  I had one of my co workers take some progress photos of me and I will be posting them eventually…the “before” photos are not the most flattering 😛 but I’m definitely happy with how far I’ve come…

So the point I’m trying to make here is the best way to accomplish ANYTHING is to set a goal. I’ve been working my butt off  lifting weights 4 days a week, doing lots of cardio (almost everyday), yoga at least 3 times a week, prepping all my meals everyday, and keeping a positive attitude about my progress. Sounds like a lot but this is what has to happen in order for my body to change it’s shape…but luckily I have the time and the drive to do it!

If you need some help setting a goal, you should make sure it is a SMART goal…

SPECIFIC (A general goal would be, “Get in shape.” But a specific goal would say, “Join a gym and workout 3 days a week.”)

MEASURABLE (“How much? How many? How will I know when it is accomplished?”)

ATTAINABLE (When you identify goals that are most important to you, you begin to figure out ways you can make them come true. You develop the attitudes, abilities, skills, and financial capacity to reach them. You begin seeing previously overlooked opportunities to bring yourself closer to the achievement of your goals)

REALISTIC (To be realistic, a goal must represent an objective toward which you are both willing and able to work. A goal can be both high and realistic; you are the only one who can decide just how high your goal should be)

TIMELY (A goal should be grounded within a time frame. With no time frame tied to it there’s no sense of urgency. If you want to lose 10 lbs, when do you want to lose it by? “Someday” won’t work. But if you anchor it within a timeframe, “by May 1st”, then you’ve set your unconscious mind into motion to begin working on the goal)

Make sense??

So for those of you struggling to get motivated or feel as though you just can’t push past your plateau or are in a bit of a rut take the first step and think long and hard about what you want to acheive, write down some short term and long term goals and put them into action!  Start today because the longer you think about doing it the less chance there is that it will happen….don’t think about it, BE about it…it worked for me! And when I reach all my goals it’s time to set new ones…I am excited for what’s to come!

“Hope” to see you all at HOPE BEACH tomorrow!!

Stay cool and don’t forget to wear sunscreen…

Les 🙂

Leave a Reply

