A quick and simple recipe to spice up your chicken!

I was about to cook my chicken last night for dinner and saw some coconut oil in my pantry and I thought “HMMM, maybe I’ll cook my chicken with that tonight?”  Then I began thinking about what spices would taste good with chicken cooked in coconut oil.  Thank you Google and this website for helping me find this quick and easy recipe…

chicken bites

Ingredients

1 1/2 lbs of chicken breasts (I used 3 breasts)

2-3 tablespoons unrefined coconut oil

1/2-3/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon thyme

1 teaspoon paprika

3/4 teaspoon sea salt/real salt

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Instructions

  1. Cut the chicken into bite sized pieces.
  2. In a bowl comine all of the spices and add 1 tablespoon of melted coconut oil. Stir in the chicken and mix until the chicken is coated in spices.
  3. Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. When the skillet is hot, stir in the chicken and cook for a few minutes, or until the chicken is not longer pink in the middle. Remove the chicken from the pan as soon as it is done cooking. The bites are so small that they can get overdone sitting in a hot pan!
  4. Recipe adapted from Barefeet in the Kitchen

I decided to make a salad and topped it with the chicken bites and I didn’t even need any dressing 🙂  Dave loved it too!  Other ways to eat these ‘bites’ is with some brown/long grain rice and cooked vegetables in a stir fry for a main dish (lunch or dinner) or make them an appetizer by serving the chicken bites with some healthy dipping sauce (greek yogurt?) and then pair them with sweet potato wedges as an appetizer.  No matter how you eat them they are DELICIOUS and a great way to add some excitement to your chicken!

Try them and let me know what you think …

Les 🙂

Leave a Reply

