Why do you exercise??

Have you ever really thought about it??

Is it because you know it’s good for you? Or maybe you think you have to? Do you do it to relieve stress or as an excuse to get out of the office or the house?  Do you like to exercise with friends and look forward to the social part of it?  Maybe you are trying to lose weight?  Are you training for something? Or maybe you’re like me and you miss it when you don’t workout because you LOVE working out SO much!

Whatever your reason for exercising I congratulate you because you are part of a small percentage of Canadians who exercise.  According to this article it is recommended that adults accumulate 150 minutes of moderate to vigorous physical activity per week in order to obtain substantial health benefits.  That’s only 30 minutes a day 5 times a week and guess how many are actually achieving this?? For males 17% (good job guys) and females 14% (tsk tsk)!  What’s even worse  is youth guidelines were met by only 9% of boys and 4% for girls (they are to get 60 minutes of exercise a day).

Being an active person, 30 minutes a day seems like not enough time!  Yes, it’s true it’s better than nothing but other than doing some high intensity interval training or a really good ab workout in 30 minutes I’m not convinced I could get everything in that I wanted to do!  People need to stop having the “it’s better than nothing” attitude, it is a pet peeve of mine!  Basically what you’re saying is it’s not satisfactory but it’s better than nothing at all…sounds pretty negative to me!  But that’s just me…do something but make it worthwhile !!

My clients always come for 1 hour workouts and this seems to leave enough time for a proper warm up, an awesome 😉 workout and cool down.  What’s even better is they get results doing 2 or 3  1-hour strength training workouts a week with me and then a couple of hours (of cardio or activities of their choice) on their own.

I am convinced that the reason today’s youth do not get as much exercise is because their parents aren’t encouraging them to!  Or perhaps the parents  aren’t active??  Whatever the reason, kids are so influential so I think it is the parents responsibility to be a role model and teach them how to live a healthy lifestyle.  What do you think?? Sounds simple to me!  And yes, I know, there are single working moms/dads, and sometimes both parents work etc etc but you can always do your best to MAKE time to educate your children about the importance of exercise.  Show them you care by getting them involved in athletics or helping them find an activity they enjoy.  Without all the years I played basketball and volleyball I don’t know what else I would’ve done with my time?? I have some of the best memories of my life playing sports, learned a lot about myself and made friends that I will never forget!

For those of you who have families what do you do when you have free time with your kids?? Watch movies or tv?? Or do you take them outside and PLAY! Whatever happened to kids spending hours playing outside with their friends and having to be dragged inside?? That’s what my sister and I used to do!  Or if we weren’t playing outside we were spending hours in the gym practicing with the basketball or volleyball team we were playing on!  I don’t remember having much time to watch tv and it also helped that my dad banned video games from our house! Thanks DAD!! I wish more parents were this tough with their kids, maybe the child obesity problem wouldn’t be as bad if kids were encouraged to play outside instead of sitting for hours glued to the computer or tv screen.  Just sayin…

Ok so somehow this has become a bit of a rant, sorry about that!  I am so passionate about educating our youth about the importance of exercise and I know when I have kids (wayyyy down the road) that they will be VERY active and hopefully enjoy playing volleyball too 😉  For those of you who didn’t already know, I studied Physical Education in University and actually taught elementary school phys ed when I first graduated so I have seen first hand how little support there is for phys ed programs in schools these days.  It is quite sad and kids are getting so lazier because of it!  Thank you to all the phys ed teachers and coaches out there who are trying their hardest to increase the level of fitness for today’s youth!  What would we do without you??  Without phys ed programs most kids wouldn’t get ANY exercise.  What’s worse is if a child has a bad experience or doesn’t like phys ed they are usually the ones who end up becoming sedentary adults.  You don’t have to be an athlete to stay active, you just have to appreciate how good it feels to be healthy and moving!

So back to my first question: Why do you exercise??? If you’re someone who works out without even thinking about it AWESOME!  You are an inspiration to those around you who aren’t there yet.  Keep it up!  If you are a person who has to drag yourself to the gym or begrudgingly workouts 3-5 times a week, YOU ARE AWESOME!  You’re putting in the effort, and you’re still part of the 15% of society of exercises 😉 Keep going!  If you are someone who becomes tired at the thought of exercising or have attempted to many times and then stop after a week, guess what you are awesome too you just don’t know it yet!  Dedicate at LEAST 30 minutes a day to exercising and once you realize how amazing it feels you’ll become addicted (like the rest of us) and you’ll become that fit person you’ve always dreamed of being!

I love this cartoon…

Now, share your answers please! Why do you exercise?? Or why don’t you exercise?? I wanna hear from you 🙂 Better yet, why do you read my blog?? If there are any topics you would like me to write about please let me know!

Les 🙂

4 thoughts on “Why do you exercise??

  1. I exercise for so many reasons: a) I want to look good. Yes, vanity is the main reason for my dedication. b) I get antsy when I don’t exercise for too long. I can’t sit still for more than 1hr, and if I go a few days without exercise my spine actually starts tingling (in a bad way). c) My (future) kids. The healthier I am, the better the babies I produce. Not to mention being a good role model for them when I’m older. Plus, I’d like to be around long enough to see my grandchildren, and being strong and healthy is the only guaranteed way to do that. d) I’m a personal trainer – I have to look the part!

    When I look at all these reasons, I realize that there’s really no reason for me NOT to exercise 😉

    PS. My parents banned video games too – I still have never used a Gameboy lol. And we were never allowed any junk food for school lunches. I “disliked” them at the time for this, but now I’m SOOO happy they did.

    • Awesome Tess! I appreciate your comments and your honesty!! Your reasons for exercising are very similar to mine!! And yay for not being allowed to play video games, I used to resent my dad for that when I was a kid but definitely am happy that he did now 🙂 I plan to have that same rule when I have kids many years from now!

  2. Just thought of another one! e) My husband is super hot and fit, and I don’t want to be that mismatched couple who people look at and say “how did SHE get HIM?”

Leave a Reply

