My Mom’s H.S.D. (healthy, simple and delicious) Pork Tenderloin Recipe

Isn’t she beautiful?!  I love my mom and had the pleasure of hosting her at my place in Ottawa last week (as many of you know if you read my blog last week!)  My mom is the BEST cook I know and not only because her meals are delicious but very healthy!  She cooked for Dave, Melissa (my roommate) and I last Monday and OMG IT WAS SOO GOOD!  She would say “Oh come on, it’s sooo easy…all you have to do is….blah blah blah” but she truly has a gift! For our meal she cooked butternut squash in the oven (cut in quarters which was challenging as she had to battle with the knife and the squash on my kitchen floor to cut it open!), steamed asparagus, and PORK TENDERLOIN!!  I don’t know what it is about the way my mom cooks meat compared to when I cook it but I can never get it to taste as good as hers.  She also gave me a great tip for saving money on meat…check the flyers for the grocery stores every week and to find meat on sale (DUH! Why didn’t I think of that?)  How many of you knew pork tenderloin was on sale last week on Independent? My mom did!

 

 

Anyway, here are the instructions for cooking the meat (according to Mom).  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Sprinkle a bit of olive olive over the pork tenderloin then sprinkle the meat with Pork Seasoning (Club House “La Grille” brand).  Cook the meat in the oven for about 1 hour or until the internal temperature (using a meat thermometer) says 160 degrees.  Take it out and allow the meat to rest (haha) for a few minutes.  Then slice into pork into medallions and enjoy as is with cooked squash and vegetables (like we did), over a bed or brown rice, quinoa or salad (as you’ll see below).  Since my mom is a planner she cooked lots of extra pork so we could have leftovers (lucky Dave got to have some too!) and made a salad for lunch the next day.  Best idea ever (and one I need to do more often) is to cook extra at dinner so you will have food for lunch and maybe enough for dinner the next day which saves time and energy!

Here are the ingredients to make this delicious salad:

A few handfuls of spinach/romaine mixed

4-6 oz of chopped up (left over) pork tenderloin

Handful of chopped apple (my mom’s favourite, honey crisp!)

Handful of chopped walnuts or any other nuts you like

Sprinkle of dried cranberries

1-2 tsp of feta cheese

Handful of chopped cucumbers, celery, carrots (if you wish)

Drizzle some homemade dressing on top (i.e., equal parts of balsamic vinegar, organic all natural maple syrup, extra virgin olive oil, pepper and sea salt to taste)

ENJOY!

Thank for you again mom, hope you enjoy today’s blog post (and that you don’t mind that your picture is on my blog?!)!!

Can’t wait for more yummy mommy meals this weekend as I will be going home for Easter!

Anyone else have any healthy pork tenderloin recipes they would like to share???

Les 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Mom’s H.S.D. (healthy, simple and delicious) Pork Tenderloin Recipe

  1. You look just like her 🙂

Leave a Reply

