Mom’s in Ottawa!

Holy windy weather today!  I can’t believe I was just finishing my race at this time yesterday in Hamilton (woohoo!) in beautiful sunny conditions and then I get back to Ottawa and wake up to THIS?!! OH WELL!

You know what I am most excited about today?? My wonderful mother is here to visit until Wednesday!! I love when she’s here because it means I get some home cooked meals, my fridge is filled with healthy (and free) food, a night at the movies and we have the best chats about anything and everything.  I don’t get to see her that often but really enjoy the time we get to spend together:)

She tells me she reads my blog religiously (thanks mom!) and she has definitely been absorbing what she’s reading because  it shows! My mother is in best shape I have seen her…good job Mom! I am proud of all the hard work you’ve been doing 🙂 It is paying off!  Also a shout out to my sister Jennifer who I have been helping with her training via text and email since January.  I saw her for the first time since Christmas in Hamilton this weekend and she has lost almost 25 pounds since December!! AMAZING!  She also completed her personal best 5km race yesterday! I am so proud of you Jennifer, keep it up!

So enough raving about my family…here is a new recipe courtesy of my client Katie .  Actually I think her mom sent it to her but regardless this is one I will be trying for sure…

Black Bean, Ground Pork and Green Bean Stir-Fry

3 T black bean sauce
1 T cornstarch
1 T rice vinegar
… Pinch of sea salt
2 T vegetable oil
1 lb lean ground pork
3 green onions, sliced (white and green parts separated)
1 T minced fresh ginger
6 oz green beans, trimmed and cut in 1-inch lengths

Directions:

In small bowl, whisk together black bean sauce, cornstarch, vinegar, sugar and 1/2 c water; set aside.

In wok, stir-fry pork; set aside. sitr-fry white parts of green onions and ginger. Add green beans; fry for 2 mins.

Add pork and black bean mixture; stir-fry for 2 mins. Add green parts of onions; stir-fry for 1 minute.

 

I love how simple  this recipe is, a few healthy ingredients, 3 steps and it’s ready!  Can’t wait to try it!

Thanks Katie!

Hope you don’t get blown away when you’re outside today…I hope this cold weather snap is short lived…my mom and I are off for a walk to the market, we will be wearing our winter jackets for sure!

Les 🙂

PS Check back from my Around the Bay race updates on Friday…

Leave a Reply

