Plyo-what?

Hello and happy Wednesday!  What a beautiful day we’ve had here in Ottawa!  Spring is in the air!

 

Speaking of  “spring” I decided to do a  plyometric workout today and what a workout it was!  I forgot how tough plyos are, especially since I did the exercises in a circuit and for 1-2 minute each…WOW I was DRENCHED afterwards.  It included squat jumps, mountain climbers, broad jumps, burpees (my favourite), lateral hops, tuck jumps, pushups, jumping lunges, plank walks and many more!  If you’re interested, come join me sometime and we’ll sweat it out together!

What are plyometrics?? Also known as jump training, plyometrics are a form of conditioning used primarily by athletes to improve performance in their sport as they are designed to increase muscular power and explosiveness.  From volleyball, basketball, and tennis players to skiiers and boxers, to the regular gym goer, all types of athletes benefit from doing plyometrics as they can be done using the lower and upper body.

Most of you might not have been brave enough to attempt a plyometric workout but let me explain how adding even just 30-45 minutes a week of these exercises will benefit you in the long run.

Benefits of doing a plyometric workout:

1. Better performance-i.e. For people who like to run (like me!) plyos are the best way to improve your speed

2. Develop muscle power-Plyos give your muscles an intense workout which will increase your muscle and power production (leaving you with nice looking athletic legs and arms)

3. Enhance your ability to burn calories-By pushing your limits in these workouts you will be increasing your metabolism which means more calories burned at rest (perfect for those trying to lose weight!)

4. Increase your muscular endurance-Who doesn’t want that?? Again great for athletes or anyone who is preparing for an event-more energy, more stamina=better performance!

5. No equipment necessary! Can do it anywhere and anytime!

6. It can be modified for everyone-it can be as simple as jumping rope in your backyard to jumping back and forth over a rolled up towel.  Use your body and your imagination and you will be surprised with the things you can come up with!

The list goes on but thought you would appreciate the ones mentioned above.

SO now that you know what plyometric training is and the benefits and you’re all excited to get started how about a video to show you an some  simple plyometric exercises (I promise I will be uploading some video from yours truly in the near future, I just need someone to hold the camera!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GN85qVxlnvQ

***BTW I don’t really like this guy’s jump lunge demo, his feet should land further apart and his back should be straighter but I think you get the idea 😛

If you have any questions or want more information on how to design a plyometric workout send me an email to les@getfitwithles.com or comment on this post and I would LOVE to help you out.  Or as I mentioned earlier, you are always welcome to join me on my plyo day 🙂

The keys to getting in better shape (according to me) are 1- consistency 2-challenging yourself 3-gradually increasing the intensity of your workouts and 4-changing things up every few weeks.  Try adding plyometrics to your workout routine and let me know how it goes!

Happy jumping!!

Les 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

