Things I learned from my naturopath…

I recently started meeting with Dr Ellen Simone who is an experienced and extremely helpful naturopathic doctor.  Sheworks at the Alta Vista Chiropractic Clinic on Bank Street.  After my initial assessment we decided that doing a 7 day detox/cleanse would be a great idea to help sort out some digestion issues I was having and to find out if I was intolerant to any foods.  After 7 days of eliminating certain foods from my diet I felt incredible!  No cravings, more energy, my mood was stable (yes I can be moody at times, ask Dave!), and I even lost a bit of excess weight as well!  Not bad eh??

Here are lists of foods that I was encouraged to eat and which ones to avoid:

Eat A LOT of
Brown rice, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, tapioca, amaranth, teff (cereals and pastas made from these grains are acceptable)
DO NOT EAT
Gluten containing grains such as wheat, oats, barley, rye, spelt
EAT
All fresh vegetables
DO NOT EAT
Peppers, mushrooms, corn, potatoes, egg plant, all frozen, canned, jarred vegetables
EAT
All fresh fruits
DO NOT EAT
Bananas, oranges, grapefruit, melons, strawberries, dried fruits
EAT
Chicken, turkey, fish (salmon, mackerel, sardines, halibut, cod)
Rice milk
Almond milk
DO NOT EAT
Red meats (beef, pork), lunch meats, hotdogs, sausage, canned meat, smoked meat, shellfish
Dairy (milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, sour cream, cream)
Eggs
EAT
Raw nuts and seeds (almonds, walnuts, brazil nuts, hazelnuts, pecans, sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds)
DO NOT EAT
Peanuts, pistacios, cashews, salted or flavoured nuts
EAT
Olive and flax oil drizzled over veggies
Cook with coconut oil
All herbs and spices
Sea salt
Nut butters, tahini and bean dips
Pesto, mustard with no additives
Apple cider/brown rice vinegar
Fresh squeezed lemon juice
DO NOT EAT
Table salt
Refined oils, margarine and shortening
All sweeteners
All food additives and colouring
DO
Drink 8 glasses of water a day
100% vegetable and fruit juices
Milk alternatives such as rice or almond milk
Herbal teas
Green tea
AVOID
Fruit drinks with refined sugar
Vegetable drinks with high sodium (V8)
Cow, goat and soy milk
Alcohol
Caffeinated beverages like coffee, pop, black tea
Try this hypoallergenic diet for a few weeks and you may find yourself less moody, less bloated, having more energy and maybe even losing a bit of weight!  No cheating though while eating this way, otherwise you won’t be able to find really determine if you are allergic to certain foods or not.  Who knows, maybe you will continue to eat this way and live a longer and healthier life!  Just when you thought you were getting in the habit of eating healthier here I go throwing healthier ways of eating at you…madness I know!
Dr. Ellen if you’re reading this please let me know if I am missing anything or misinterpreted anything that you told me 🙂
Anyone ever tried to cut out all the “trigger”  or “bad” foods in your diet before???  How did you feel?? Were you able to maintain it??
I am now trying to be even more conscious of everything I eat and find that not only am I much happier but my stomach is too 🙂
Good luck!
Les
12 thoughts on “Things I learned from my naturopath…

    • Actually Tania you’re right, bananas are okay as long as they are organic (not full of harmful pesticides) thanks for pointing this out! I want to know more about the Candida Diet you are doing…

      • tania says:

        It’s really not exciting. I am eliminating gluten, dairy, sugar (including fruit, corn, soy, and caffeine from my diet and since I am vegetarian I pretty much eat the following: bean, almonds, unsweetened coconut and almond milk, vega shakes, rice, quinoa, buckwheat, vegetables and eggs. Day #5 it took until this morning to get rid of my bloated stomach. 25 more days to go 🙂

      • Wow that’s tough but good for you! How are you feeling now? PS I LOVE the Vega products!!

    • Bananas are a common food sensitivity which is why they are on the list. However, the list is just a guideline of the most common foods that people react to. I used to get major stomach cramps from bananas but after doing this diet and repairing my digestive system I can now eat them without any issues. I usually just modify the diet based on your needs since some people are very sensitive and even react to supposedly good foods like apples or others have medical conditions associated with foods sensitivities such as migraines, arthritis and autoimmune conditions.

      I’d love to answer your questions if you have more! 🙂

  1. Brynn Lang says:

    Hey Les!!! I have IBS so I tried this way of eating to eliminate my problems. I stuck pretty well to it for a few months and it did help a little. I found that I could not keep to it super strict so I allowed some things back in my diet in occasion like Greek yogurt, cottage cheese and sugar on occasion 🙂 I also found that although my stomach does not handle wheat well, Ezekiel bread works well for me because it’s flourless even though it contains wheat. Anyway, I just mainly stick to high protein, high good fats and low carb. Carbs I only get from oats, fruits and vegetables and the Ezekiel bread. Hope this helps!!

    • That is excellent advice! Thanks Brynn! Very helpful! You have obviously found out what works for you as your body is on FIRE and you look like you’re in GREAT shape! I still haven’t tried Ezekiel bread…

  2. What a great post! I’m so happy you are feeling better and yes, you got all the information right 🙂

    The only thing I can add is that in addition to eliminating foods that impair your digestive tract function, it is also great to do things to support and heal your digestive tract. There are various things and they are based on your individual needs so seeing a naturopath for guidance is a great idea. Some examples would include: ensuring you have adequate stomach acid, digestive enzymes, doing castor oil packs,drinking healing teas and ingesting herbs that soothe inflammation and repair the tissue, omega-3 fatty acids, probiotics (the good bacteria that regulate digestion and the immune system), etc. Ideally, the goal is to clean out your system of all the bad stuff, while healing and repairing it with the good stuff. This way, hopefully you will be able to eat small quantities of the bad foods and have less severe symptoms because you’ve optimized the function of your digestive tract.

    Thanks again for sharing your experience! I’m going to re-blog your post and share it with my followers as well. See you Friday for our training session!

  3. Reblogged this on Dr. Ellen Simone, ND and commented:
    Here’s a great post by my new personal trainer, Leslie Robertson (www.getfitwithles.com) where she shares her experience doing the hypoallergenic diet under my naturopathic care. I’m so happy she stuck with it because she had amazing results! Thanks for sharing your experience Leslie!

  4. Katie Boone says:

    Les Does this mean that all this food is bad for you? Or is it to figure out what your personal sensitivities are? I can’t imagine never being able to eat peppers!?!

    • No these foods are not bad for you but they may cause allergic reactions and/or you may have sensitivities to them. The only way you can figure this out is 1-have an allergy test done or 2-try eliminating these foods from your diet for a few weeks then slowly introduce them back in. My naturopath Dr. Ellen Simone could give you more information so be sure to check out her website 🙂 I love peppers too, don’t worry you can eat your peppers!! LOL!

Leave a Reply

