My deepest, darkest secret revealed…

Happy Monday!

I hope that everyone had a great weekend.  I spent most of my weekend at Rama Lotus with my wonderful yoga teacher training friends and amazing lead instructors 🙂  The part of my weekend that I also enjoyed was dinner last night with Dave (my boyfriend)!  He was sweet enough to take me out for dinner (which we do once a month) and we both decided on PIZZA!!! One of my favourite cheat meals is PIZZA!!  

I know you are all probably thinking ‘shame on Leslie, she isn’t supposed to eat pizza, she is a personal trainer!’  Well you are right!  I shouldn’t and I don’t very often but let me share a little secret with you-I AM HUMAN!  All personal trainers like to ‘cheat’ on their diet once in awhile or take a day off from training…we are human and need a break sometimes!

Wondering why I encourage my clients (and also give myself) 1 cheat meal per week?

Here are the reasons why…

1-The Pleasure Principle-I’m all about everything in moderation, so if you’re eating healthy and exercising, indulging with a small treat or a glass of wine here and there isn’t going to throw you off the wellness wagon. However, if you need to harness your cravings schedule a cheat day/meal.  I think that a cheat meal keeps me from feeling deprived since I have something to look forward to.

2-Psychological benefit-Many people feel that cheat meals help them deal with the feelings of restriction they endure while trying to eat cleaner. They find that by looking forward to splurging on their favorite foods they have an easier time sticking with their healthy diet the rest of the time

3-Metabolic effect-When you shock your system with a high influx of calories at one time, the body’s metabolism will show an increase and you’ll kick start your ‘furnace’ into high gear once again.

The next time you are thinking about a cheat, think about how it will affect you physiologically and psychologically and try and make the best judgment as to how it will help you progress and reach your long term goals.  This is why I usually recommend having a cheat meal as opposed to an entire day of cheating (can you say stomach ache?!)

What are you thoughts on having one cheat meal a week?  What is your favourite cheat meal?

Les 🙂

5 thoughts on “My deepest, darkest secret revealed…

  1. Ashley Petrinec says:

    I can TOTALLY relate to this post. I have been working with my trainer for about a year and a half and have been seeing results but lately we are focusing on the diet part of it so I can fully reach my goals. Ever since I have stopped playing collegiate sports I have had problems with feeling REALLY guilty when I would have a bad meal…even if it wasnt that often.

    My trainer told me about the 90-10 concept. Which means eating 90% clean and 10% bad each week. WIth the way my eating schedule is that equates to 3 bad meals a week (this includes snacks). When I look at it that way, I dont feel guilty anymore and there are even weeks when I’ve done better than that. My trainer always tells me that you will go crazy if you try to eat clean ALL the time so a little cheat now and then is good for you. Sounds like great minds think alike. 🙂

    Maybe one day I can get it down to one meal a week! Loving your blog Les!

    Ash

    • I am so happy you can relate! That is awesome you are still with you trainer! You must be super strong and a machine even more so that university volleyball days (if it’s possible)! I agree that eating is always the last piece of the puzzle and everyone struggles with it. Sounds like you’re on the right track! I am so proud of you! I am happy you are reading my blog 🙂 I appreciate your post!
      Les

  2. Now this is a post I can LOVE!!!

  3. Mmmmm chocolate is my thing; it’s the one indulgence I NEVER apologize for!

Leave a Reply

