Eat more (often) to lose weight!

Sound crazy??? Not many people believe this nor is it advertised but guess what-IT WORKS! One of the most effective ways to shed extra weight is to eat more. Rather than eating 3 meals a day try eating 6 small meals a day. Why?? I used to think “this makes no sense” but once I tried it I realized that by eating more frequently I increased my metabolism but at the same time I prevented myself from ever getting too hungry-which caused me to lose weight. Once you start to do eat every 3-4 hours your body will need and want to eat this often. You will obviously have to make your portions smaller but every time you eat it becomes an event to fuel your metabolism and should contain the most nutritious (clean) foods. We must get better at realizing that we eat to live, and not live to eat!!

Most of us are ok with making healthy breakfasts, lunches and dinners but struggle with the ‘in between’ meals (or snacks). So because I love you all so much I have listed my TOP 5 EASIEST SNACKS for you to try.


And in no particular order…

Whey Protein shake (1 scoop mixed with water) and 15-20 natural almonds
1 rice cake with 1 tbsp almond/peanut butter (and banana if before/after a workout)
1/2 cup 1% cottage cheese (or greek yogurt) with 1/2 cup fruit
1 green apple with 1 tbsp almond butter/peanut butter
Raw cut up veggies (peppers, cucumbers, carrots) with hummus

** For all you who are trying to lose weight-here’s a tip-no fruit after 11:00 am! Too much fruit=too much sugar which your body could store as fat BUT it is okay to have fruit for breakfast and/or your morning snack (with protein of course) but no more afterwards!! Remember 1-2 servings of fruit a day and endless servings of veggies!**
***Also notice that all my snacks have PROTEIN…remember we must eat 1 g of protein per kg (or .36 g/lb) of body weight to keep from slowly breaking down your muscle tissue!**

Feel free to post any of YOUR favourite healthy snacks.

If you love to snack on Sun Chips, Granola Bars, Juicy Fruit or Chocolate Bars (or even worse-you do not snack at all) you need to read this post over again and change your snacking habits!!! Remember to plan all of your meals-even your snacks!!

Good luck

Les 🙂

5 thoughts on “Eat more (often) to lose weight!

  1. -Ants on a log! (Celery with peanut butter and raisins…. for a morning snack, of course)
    -1/2 whole wheat english muffin with tomato, low-fat cheese, and basil
    -Hard-boiled eggs
    -Oatmeal with whey or nuts or fruit
    -Crackers with avocado and jam
    -Low-fat cheese and grapes/apple/pear

  2. Yummm thanks for sharing these Tess! I will be sure to add them to my inventory 🙂

  3. Megan says:

    Thanks for the tip Les! I never thought about how the sugar from fruit could store as fat if we eat it later in the day. Makes sense to eat it early so we have more time to burn it off.

  4. Annette O'Connor says:

    Yesterday I reflected on what makes me ‘live to eat’ rather than ‘eat to live’? The answer for me is cereal, bread, and of course the usual treats. So if I focus most on protein, veggies and 1 or 2 fruits, I eat to live.

Leave a Reply

