My new favourite “Meal-in-Bowl” Soup…

As I was planning my meals for the week (as I do every Sunday night) I was skimming through Tosca Reno’s “Eat Clean Diet RECHARGED” book (one of my all time favourites by the way!) and came across this great recipe called “Meal in a Bowl Soup”. I was a little intimidated at first (silly I know-I mean how hard is it to make soup?) as there was a HUGE list of ingredients that required a lot of chopping but loved the idea of making a big batch of soup that would last me the rest of the week. For those of you who always feel like you have no time or energy to cook during the week I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you try this trick…cook all your food (or a big pot of soup/stew/chilli) for the week on the weekend…and then divide it into individual serving sizes (Ziploc bags or Tupperware containers) that you can keep in the fridge and use for lunch and/or dinners that week or freeze the left overs…

Some of you are probably like “ya ya ya” and “I know” or “I have heard this before” and it sounds so simple but how many of you have actually tried preparing and/or planned all your meals the weekend before?? I dare you to try it sometime…it will save you a lot of stress, time and money during the week! And you will EAT HEALTHIER!! Let me know how it goes…

So here is the recipe for the ‘Meal-in-a-Bowl Soup’

YUMMY! Nutritious and delicious!!

Ingredients
1/4 cup/60 ml Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 bunch of celery, leaves included, trimmed and coarsely chopped
2 large onions, peeled and chopped (TIP-to stop the ‘onion chopping’ tears…chew gum or refrigerate your onions!)
3 fat carrots, peeled and coarsely chopped
3 parsnips, peeled and coarsely chopped
1 head garlic, peeled and coarsely chopped
4 fist-sized yellow potatoes, peeled and coarsely chopped
1 head green cabbage (about the size of two hands cupped together) shredded
2 x 15oz cans white kidney beans, rinsed and drained
8 plum tomatoes, coarsely chopped
12 cups/3 L low sodium chicken or vegetable stock
1 tbsp sea salt
1 tbsp freshly ground black pepper
2 tbsp dried oregano
2 tbsp dried basil

Method
1-In large Dutch oven or heavy bottomed skillet (aka HUGE POT!) place olive oil and heat over medium-high flame.
2-Add celery, onions, carrots and parsnips. Saute until onions are soft. Add garlic, potatoes and shredded cabbage and all remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat and simmer for an hour or until vegetables are soft.
3-Serve hot!

Nutritional Value Per Serving:
Calories: 395 Calories from Fat: 72 Protein: 21 g (add chicken or any other meat if you wish) Carbs: 66g
Total Fat: 8g Saturated Fat: 1g Trans Fat: 0g Fiber: 20g Sodium: 492mg Cholesterol: 0mg Sugar: 11g

Makes 10 servings (2 cups/480ml per portion)
25 mins prep time
120 minutes cook time

Any other suggestions for quick and easy (and healthy) soup/chili/stew recipes?? I would love to hear from you!

Les 🙂

8 thoughts on “My new favourite “Meal-in-Bowl” Soup…

  1. Dave Ess says:

    Way to go babe! Keep up the good work.

    xo D

  2. Lea says:

    My father makes these soups/stews using oven bags (the ones for turkeys in the oven and such) and puts tons of veggies and some chicken or other meat, adds some spices, garlic, etc. and then the juice of half an orange to get the juices going. Then he closes it up and submerges it all in simmering water and just leaves it for I guess a couple of hours. It creates the most amazing soup ever, because all the juices get locked up inside the bag and all the vitamins are stuck in there too. It’s an unorthodox way of making a soup, but I highly recommend it!
    Thanks for you recipe too, I’ll be sure to try it!

    • OMG LEA! This sounds soo good! I have never heard of using an over bag to make soup…I LOVE IT! Thanks so much for the idea!! I am going to try that for sure!! On another note, it was a pleasure training you…congrats on your inches lost…KEEP IT UP!!

  3. Chelsea Buck says:

    Lester! Love your blog. I made Minestrone Soup this afternoon and plan on eating it all weekend long 🙂

  4. Hi Les, love yer blog!!! Inspires me to go veggie shopping.
    My ‘lazy gal soup special’ involves opening a mason jar of Soup’s On (clean eating low sodium product in most grocery stores) such as vegetable chili or lentils&pea soup and adding chicken or lean ham. 1 cup Chili with 4oz chicken has about 270 cals, 6 gm fiber, 30 gm protein. Prep & cook time 3 minutes. For the young active types you may need a second cup of veg chili (130 cal) if still hungry. Annette

Leave a Reply

